Which Bay Area Cities Require an Arborist Report?
10 cities always require one with a removal application, 19 require one in specific situations, and 6 never do. The rule, who may write it, and the source, city by city.
Dataset version 2026-10-09 · 35 cities · by Michael Schuck, ISA Certified Arborist WE-15750A, Urban Forest Professional WE-15750AF
Always required: Hillsborough, Los Altos, Menlo Park, Mill Valley, Milpitas, Orinda, Palo Alto, Pleasant Hill, Redwood City, Santa Clara.
Required in some situations (hazard claims, development, heritage trees, or at staff discretion): Atherton, Belmont, Burlingame, Campbell, Cupertino, Danville, Fremont, Hayward, Lafayette, Los Gatos, Mountain View, San Carlos, San Jose, San Mateo, Saratoga, Sunnyvale, Tiburon, Walnut Creek, Woodside.
Not required by rule: Berkeley, Foster City, Oakland, Piedmont, San Francisco, San Rafael.
| City | Arborist report | When | Who may write it | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atherton | Sometimes | Staff-level (dead/dangerous) permit: the building department 'may require' a certified arborist report at applicant's expense (AMC 8.10.040(A)); the Town Arborist inspects after the application and fee are received. Planning Commission-level removal (tree not dead or dangerous): application packet must include 'A Tree Survey and Arborist Report prepared by a professional arborist' (Heritage Tree Removal Procedure and Application to Planning Commission, item 7). | 'Certified arborist means an individual possessing a current International Society of Arboriculture arborist certification' (8.10.020(C)). Town procedure PDF (updated 9/11/19) allows a written condition report from a State-licensed Registered Professional Forester, an ISA certified arborist, or an ASCA member for dead/dangerous trees. | municipal code |
| Belmont | Sometimes | Non-development permits: no arborist report listed; the City Arborist books an on-site visit within 72 business hours and 'will assess your tree to determine if a permit may be issued' (Parks & Recreation page). Code application contents (BCC 25-6(a)(2)) list no report, only 'any other pertinent information as may be required by the City Manager.' Development-related permits (building permits, design review, variances): 'the decision-maker may require an Arborist Report or Standard Tree Protection Measures, as appropriate.' | Code definition (BCC 25-2): 'Arborist means an American Society of Consulting Arborists (ASCA) registered consulting arborist, or an arborist certified by the International Society of Arboriculture.' | city department page |
| Berkeley | Not required | No arborist report required. The city's 'Coast Live Oak Pruning or Removal Exemption' form (for private property) asks only for applicant/tree address, exception type (pruning >25% or removal), reason for request, and site access; City staff/City Manager designee decides. BMC 6.52.010(C) places the danger finding on the City Manager or designee. | N/A (not required) | city application form |
| Burlingame | Sometimes | At the Parks & Recreation Director's discretion: BMC 11.06.060(b) lists eight items the director 'may require,' the first being an arborist report from a city-approved arborist. In practice the City Arborist inspects after the online application (two photos + schematic); the FAQ says 'An independent arborist report is often requested since the City Arborist cannot perform work on private trees,' and a structural engineer's report is required when building damage is claimed. Development projects require a project arborist (certified) and tree protection plan. | Code: 'An arborist report from an arborist approved by the city' (11.06.060(b)(1)); 'Certified arborist means a professional who possesses a current International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) Arborist certification' (11.06.020). FAQ: 'Both the independent arborist and structural engineer must be licensed in their field, and in good standing.' | municipal code |
| Campbell | Sometimes | Only when 'the condition or viability of the tree(s) or its impact to property is not readily evident' - Community Development Director may require it (CMC 21.32.070(B); dead/dying trees 21.32.065(C)); assigned planner informs applicant. Director Interpretation No. 10 (signed 01/04/26) lets dying trees documented by photos/staff inspection be processed by Zoning Clearance, with an arborist report required only where the condition is not visually apparent from ground level. Report is procured by the City from a pre-qualified consultant at applicant expense. | 'Certified arborist' = certified by the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) or the American Society of Consulting Arborists (ASCA) (21.32.020); in practice the City orders the report from its pre-qualified consultant (actual contract cost + 20% admin; $259 review fee) | city application form |
| Cupertino | Sometimes | Required by CMC 14.18.110(A)(2) for removal of a heritage tree, privacy planting tree, approved development tree, or a mature specimen tree with single-trunk DBH greater than 24 inches (multi-trunk greater than 48 inches). Not required for specimen trees 12-24 inch single-trunk (24-48 multi-trunk) DBH unless the applicant exceeds the 36-month removal cap (6 trees or 5%), which triggers an arborist report plus notification. Tree Removal Permit Application form: 'if needed, ISA certified Arborist report'; General Planning Application checklist (rev. 6/30/2026) item 12 requires an ISA Certified Arborist report (within 90 days) when a project involves removal/disturbance of any Protected Tree or any tree on non-single-family property. | 'an arborist certified by the International Society of Arboriculture' (ISA Certified Arborist) | municipal code |
| Danville | Sometimes | At the discretion of the Chief of Planning - 'if determined necessary' (32-79.6(c)). The Planning Division's Tree Removal requirements sheet (REV. 1024) says: 'In cases where the reasons for the proposed tree removal are not clearly visible, the applicant may be asked to submit an arborist report for the tree(s).' Applications tied to a major or minor development project must include a detailed tree site plan (32-79.6(b)); mitigation ratios may be adjusted 'based on an arborist report or environmental study' (32-79.8(c)). | 'Tree report' = assessment 'prepared by a certified arborist or member of the International Society of Consulting Arborists' (32-79.2(l)); 'Certified arborist' = as defined by the ISA, or an ASCA consulting arborist approved by the Chief of Planning (32-79.2(a)). | municipal code |
| Foster City | Not required | N/A - Foster City has no private-property tree removal permit, so no arborist report requirement exists. The full Municipal Code table of contents (codepublishing, read 2026-10-09) contains no title or chapter on trees, tree preservation, or heritage trees; the only tree provisions are 12.36.130 (injuring vegetation in parks) and 12.40.330 (removing parking-strip trees needs city consent). | N/A | municipal code |
| Fremont | Sometimes | At staff discretion: FMC 18.215.110(a)(3)(D) lets the landscape architect require, 'when appropriate, a report by an arborist selected by the city' for non-development private protected-tree removals; 18.215.120 (development pending/contemplated) likewise: '(E) When required by the landscape architect, a report by an arborist selected by the city'. The applicant pays the report cost via advance deposit (18.215.110(a)(1)). The online Property Owner application asks for photos, not a report. | 'an arborist selected by the city'; 'Arborist' defined in 18.215.030 as a person with at least three years' experience certified by and in good standing with the ISA | municipal code |
| Hayward | Sometimes | HMC 10-15.21(4) (Ord. 25-09, adopted 9/2/2025): required (a) for development projects; (b) for proposed removal of a Heritage Tree, Memorial Tree, three (3) or more Protected Trees, or if requested by the Director; (c) for pruning permits removing more than one-third of canopy, non-ANSI A300 pruning, or if requested by the Director. Also 10-15.22(7): if a permit is sought on tree-risk grounds, 'an ISA tree risk assessment form must be included with the application' rated by an ISA Tree Risk Assessment Qualified Arborist. Replacement for 3+ residential trees is based on the valuation in the required arborist report (10-15.21(6)(c)(ii)). | 'Certified Arborist' as defined by the ISA, including an ASCA Consulting Arborist (10-15.11); ISA TRAQ arborist for risk-based requests | municipal code |
| Hillsborough | Required | All protected tree removal permits: HMC 14.04.040(C) (improved land), 14.04.050(B) (unimproved land) and 14.04.030(B) (subdivisions) each require 'An arborist report' with the site plan, reason letter, replacement statement and fee. Hazard track (14.04.040(E)): a 'written opinion from a certified arborist' that the tree must be removed within thirty days, reviewed by a town-qualified arborist. Town's Arborist Report Template (v. 23-07-03): 'An arborist report is a required component of a tree removal permit application.' | 'Certified arborist means an arborist certified by the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) with current certification standing ... or an American Society of Consulting Arborists (ASCA) consulting arborist with current membership standing' (14.04.020). Template: report 'shall be completed by a certified arborist, registered with the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) or American Society of Consulting Arborists.' | municipal code |
| Lafayette | Sometimes | Category II (development-associated) permits: required (LMC 6-1707(b)(2)). Dead/dying-tree fee-waived permits: required to attest tree is dead/dying and cause (6-1705(b)(2)). Imminent-threat emergency removal: arborist certification (6-1705(c)(1)). Category I standalone: code lists arborist report only as 'supplemental information as may be necessary' (6-1706(b)(3)), but the current Tree Permit Application (Rev. 2026-03-20) lists 'ARBORIST REPORT prepared by a certified or consulting arborist' as a General Submittal Requirement (YES/N/A checkbox) and Step 2 says to 'ensure that all submittal requirements are included (arborist report, narrative, replacement calculations, etc)'. Director may also refer to a city arborist for peer review at applicant cost. | ISA Certified Arborist or ASCA Registered Consulting Arborist (LMC 6-1702(a)); application form: 'certified or consulting arborist' | municipal code |
| Los Altos | Required | Every private-property Tree Removal Permit application: Planning Division submittal checklist requires (item 3) an Arborist Report prepared by a Certified Arborist and (item 4) a Replacement Plan prepared by a Certified Arborist; Process Handout: review is initiated only when all checklist items 'including an arborist report and replacement plan prepared by a Certified Arborist' are submitted. Code LAMC 11.08.120(C) mandates the certified-arborist replacement plan with the application; 11.08.100(B) lets the approval authority additionally require an independent certified arborist report at applicant expense. | 'Certified Arborist' - defined in LAMC 11.08.020 as certified by the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) or the American Society of Consulting Arborists (ASCA) | city application form |
| Los Gatos | Sometimes | At the discretion of the Director/Town Arborist, typically after the initial Town inspection (Town Code 29.10.0980(4); application FAQ item 5: 'If required by the Town Arborist following initial inspection'). If removal is part of a development application, a copy of the associated tree report is required, and development applications affecting protected trees must include a Tree Survey Plan / Tree Preservation Report by a certified or consulting arborist (29.10.1000). If structural damage is the basis, a licensed architect/engineer report may also be required. | 'Certified or consulting arborist' as defined in 29.10.0955: certified by the International Society of Arboriculture, a member of the American Society of Consulting Arborists, or approved by the Director. Report must be signed and, if risk is claimed, include an ISA Tree Risk Assessment and Rating. | municipal code |
| Menlo Park | Required | Every nondevelopment heritage tree removal/significant-pruning permit: Step 1 and Step 2 of the city application require an arborist report from a city-approved consulting arborist written within the last 12 months, stating the primary removal criterion. Exception: 'If the heritage tree is dead or is an invasive species ... the applicant may submit pictures and label it as an arborist report.' Development-related permits, work within 10x trunk diameter, or 4+ trees trigger the full Arborist Report Checklist for Large Projects (PW rev 20230605). Code basis: 13.24.050(a) permits 'pursuant to procedures established by the public works director'; 13.24.030(c) tree protection plan 'prepared by a city-approved certified arborist.' | Only a named arborist on the City-approved consulting arborists list: 'City-approved arborists include only the named arborist on the list, not the company.' Checklist: 'prepared by a certified arborist who is currently identified by the City of Menlo Park as a City approved pre-qualified arborist' (ISA certification or ASCA membership number required). | city department page |
| Mill Valley | Required | Current Planning Department 'Supplemental Application for Tree Removal Permit' lists an Arborist Report as Application Requirement #3 for every private-property tree removal permit. The code itself is narrower: MVMC 20.67.040 mandates a certified-arborist tree report only when the removal reason is (a) public health/safety due to the tree's death or disease, or (b) to enhance the health of the subject or adjacent trees; 20.67.090 adds 'Prior to making a determination on a tree removal permit, the City may require a tree report.' City may peer-review the applicant's report via its consultant (Urban Forestry Associates) at applicant cost ($580/tree). | ISA Certified Arborist, 'independent of the City's arborist consultant (Urban Forestry Associates)' (application form). Code 20.67.040: 'certified arborist'. Code definition of 'Tree Report'/'Arborist Report' (20.67.020) describes a report by a certified arborist selected and retained by the City but paid by the applicant. | city application form |
| Milpitas | Required | For every protected-tree removal on private property, per the Planning Department's Tree Removal Checklist ('Landscape Professional Memo' covering species, approximate size, circumference at breast height, health/status, and reason for removal). The code itself (Title X Ch. 2, version Aug 4, 2026) contains no arborist-report requirement; it only requires ISA-certified appraisal for cost recovery after unlawful removal (X-2-9.01(b)). | A 'landscape professional' holding a City of Milpitas business license. The checklist does not use the word arborist or require ISA certification. | city application form |
| Mountain View | Sometimes | Required only for applications routed to the Planning Division: Heritage tree removal as part of a development permit on a nonresidential or multifamily site, or removal of 4 or more Heritage trees on any multifamily/nonresidential property. Applications routed to Urban Forestry (dead/fallen trees on any property; single-family/duplex removals with or without construction; 3 or fewer trees on multifamily/nonresidential sites with no construction) list no arborist report - the application needs number, species, size, location, reason and owner signature, and a City Arborist inspects (typically within 2 weeks of payment). | ISA certified arborist (Planning route). | city department page |
| Oakland | Not required | Not required by OMC 12.36.080(C) (non-development) or 12.36.090 (development): applicant submits a site plan showing location, species and dbh of protected trees plus a written compliance certification; the City Tree Reviewer evaluates (e.g., 12.36.050(B)(4) value 'measured by the Tree Reviewer using the criteria established by the International Society of Arboriculture'). The only 'arborist' mention in Ch. 12.36 is the Monterey pine removal notice. Department application page makes no mention of an arborist report. | N/A (not required) | municipal code |
| Orinda | Required | City application form and July 2026 Tree Ordinance Handout list an Arborist Report as a submittal requirement for every Tree Removal Permit (both Type I standalone and Type II development-associated). Code text itself is softer: OMC 17.21.4.B says the application 'shall contain other supplemental information as may be necessary ... such as the written recommendation of a professional arborist', and 17.21.4.D decision factors reference 'evidence from a certified arborist' and 'as determined by an arborist report'. Emergency Tree Removal Letter (permit exemption, no fee) also requires a certified arborist determination of imminent danger (city FAQ). Development near protected trees: arborist report/recommendation required when grading or construction is within 10 ft of a protected tree's dripline (handout). | 'certified arborist' (application form); code defines 'Professional arborist' as ISA Certified Arborist or a person the Director determines is equally qualified (OMC 17.21.2) | city application form |
| Palo Alto | Required | Every protected tree removal permit (no-development residential, development, subdivision, planning-approval, and 'any other circumstance') is decided 'on the basis of a tree report prepared by a designated arborist' (PAMC 8.10.050(a)-(e)). Dept page: Tree Removal Permit application must include an arborist report confirming an allowable removal reason; letter-report format acceptable for 3 or fewer trees; hazard claims need a Level 2 TRAQ assessment. | 'Designated arborist' = ISA Certified Arborist (or other nationally recognized certification) selected by the urban forester for the city's approved list (8.10.020(d)). Interim rule on dept page: until the official list exists, any ISA certified arborist or ASCA registered consulting arborist may submit required reports. | municipal code |
| Piedmont | Not required | No private-tree removal permit exists, so no report is required. City Code Ch. 3 Art. V (Trees on Private Property) contains only Sec. 3.21 (City-initiated hazardous tree removal on 24-hour notice) and Sec. 3.22 (Viewshed; private view-claim arbitration). Only arborist references: 3.22 'View Arbitrator' may be an ISA registered/certified arborist, and 3.22.7(5) 'All trimming, topping, thinning and tree removal required under this Section must be performed by a certified arborist.' | N/A (no permit) | municipal code |
| Pleasant Hill | Required | Every tree removal permit application (PHMC 18.100.030.D). Exception: for a Zoning Administrator determination that a tree is dead (no permit, no fee), an arborist report is only required 'if deemed necessary' (18.100.040.F.1). Emergency hazardous-tree removal is exempt from a prior permit but a permit must be submitted within five days (18.100.040.C). Discretionary development with protected-tree removal also requires a tree preservation and replacement plan with an arborist report (18.100.050). Third-party peer review by a certified arborist/BCMA/RCA may be required at applicant cost (18.100.030.F). | Code: 'certified arborist' (18.100.030.D). Submittal-requirements sheet is broader: 'an independent report by a certified arborist, licensed landscape architect or other professional approved by the Zoning Administrator'. Peer review: certified arborist, board certified master arborist, or registered consulting arborist. | municipal code |
| Redwood City | Required | Every private-property tree removal application: the city's Tree Permit Application - Submittal Requirements checklist lists an Arborist Report as a required item and states removal criteria must be identified in a written recommendation from a Certified Arborist. City Arborist may additionally require architectural plans, tree inventory (large projects/new development) or tree & landscape appraisal. | Certified Arborist (written report) or a TRAQ (Tree Risk Assessment Qualification) report | city application form |
| San Carlos | Sometimes | Not required as a routine submittal - the City Arborist (city-retained) performs the site visit/report, paid for by the application fee. SCMC 18.18.070(F)(3): City Arborist 'may require the applicant to provide an arborist's report'. Development criterion (F)(2)(e) requires documentation/tree appraisals per the Administrative Guidelines (infeasibility narrative, two alternative site plans); structural-damage claims need a written narrative from an ISA Certified Arborist, structural engineer, or contractor (dept page). Any existing applicant report must be submitted for peer review. | 'arborist's report' (credential unspecified) reviewed by City Arborist; code elsewhere references 'ISA-certified arborist' (health rating (F)(2)(c)(ii), tree protection plans (D)(5)); structural-damage narrative: ISA Certified Arborist, structural engineer, or contractor | municipal code |
| San Francisco | Not required | Not required. PWC 806(b)(3)(A) (which 810A(b)(1) applies to private significant trees) only requires application 'on the designated form'; a Public Works arborist inspects. An ISA Certified Arborist written report appears only under 'Further Recommendations' on the application form and department page. Separate rule: a certified-arborist Tree Protection Plan is required for construction near Street/Significant/Landmark Trees (PWC 808(c)(5)). | Not specified as a requirement; the recommendation names an 'International Society of Arboriculture Certified Arborist' | city application form |
| San Jose | Sometimes | Required for dead/dying/diseased removals ('Submit the Tree Removal Permit Application with a signed certified arborist report.'), for over-the-counter imminent-hazard Unsuitable Tree Removal Permits ('as evidenced by a signed certified arborist report'), and for live ordinance-size tree removals when staff request it ('City staff may require you to submit a report signed by a certified arborist'). Not required for unsuitable-tree removals (proximity/species list) unless requested. | 'certified arborist' (signed report); certification body not specified on the page | city department page |
| San Mateo | Sometimes | Standalone (non-development) removals: optional at initial submittal, may be required later by staff; SMMC 13.40.100 lets the Managing Arborist require a Certified Arborist's report. Required when: (a) Major Pruning (pruning specifications by a Certified Arborist, 13.40.100); (b) removing/pruning more than 5 trees (ISA Certified Arborist report, application form); (c) development-related removals (arborist report must show tree cannot be saved and cite a 13.40.100 criterion). Risk-based requests: report from an ISA Qualified Tree Risk Assessor 'is recommended and may be required' (application form). | ISA Certified Arborist (dept page/form); code: 'Certified Arborist'; risk-based requests: ISA Qualified Tree Risk Assessor (TRAQ) | city department page |
| San Rafael | Not required | Not applicable: San Rafael has no private-property tree removal permit. SRMC Chapter 11.12 (Trees) regulates only trees 'in, upon or along any public street, sidewalk or walkway' and is administered by the Public Works Department. Title 14 (Zoning) chapter list (Municode, current through Supp. 37, online Aug 11, 2026) contains no tree-preservation or heritage-tree chapter; tree review arises only through discretionary development review (e.g., 14.12 Hillside overlay, 14.25 Environmental and Design Review) for development projects. Adopted-but-uncodified ordinances listed on Municode (Ords. 2058-2064, Feb-Jun 2026) do not include a tree ordinance. | N/A | municipal code |
| Santa Clara | Required | Every application for a protected-tree removal permit (SCCC 12.35.090(c)(2)(C)); also item VI of the Planning Division 'Application Checklist - Tree Removal Permit (Planning)' (Rev. 09/23). For development requiring a discretionary permit and hearing, an ISA-certified tree survey and written report are also required (12.35.100(a)). | Arborist certified by the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA). | municipal code |
| Saratoga | Sometimes | Mandatory for any application for discretionary development approval that would remove a protected tree, and for other projects where the Community Development Director determines it necessary (15-50.130). For a stand-alone tree removal/pruning/encroachment permit the Director 'may' require a written report from an ISA Certified Arborist and/or City Arborist review, at applicant's expense (15-50.080(b)); otherwise the City Arborist performs a field inspection. The Tree Permit Application form (rev. 9/19/25) lists no arborist-report item. | ISA Certified Arborist acceptable to the Director (15-50.080(b)); 'Arborist Report' is defined as prepared by a certified arborist and accepted by the Community Development Director (15-50.020(c)). | municipal code |
| Sunnyvale | Sometimes | Not required for a standard private protected-tree removal permit: the Tree Removal Permit Checklist (Rev. 12/2022) lists only Owner Certification, tree information (number, location, type/size, reason) and the non-refundable fee, and states the City Arborist and Planning staff inspect the tree(s). A certified arborist report is optional and reduces the fee (separate fee line). An ISA-certified arborist tree survey is required only when site development needs a discretionary permit and public hearing (SMC 19.94.110(a)). | 'Certified Arborist' (fee schedule line); for development tree surveys, 'an arborist who has been certified by the International Society of Arboriculture' (19.94.110(a)). | adopted fee schedule |
| Tiburon | Sometimes | At Planning Director discretion: TMC 15A-5(b) lets the director require 'a report by a certified arborist satisfactory to the town, and/or a tree inventory' when reasonably necessary to make a determination, at applicant cost. The standard Tree Permit Application (Community Development Dept, with Land Development Application rev. 2026) does not list an arborist report among its required attachments (application form, aerial photo/site plan, ribbon-tagged tree photos, optional planting plan); it only advises contacting an arborist if the species is unknown. The director inspects the trees and site within 15 days (15A-6(c)). | 'certified arborist satisfactory to the town' (TMC 15A-5(b)) | municipal code |
| Walnut Creek | Sometimes | Required when the tree removal involves development: applicant must provide an arborist report with tree survey plan (WCMC 3-8.04(b)); if development and 3 or more trees are proposed for removal, 'or when otherwise required by the Director', an arborist report and tree appraisal are required (3-8.04(c)); Director may waive. Standalone (non-development) removals: no applicant arborist report - the Director/City Arborist visits and inspects the trees (3-8.04(d); city page step 4 'City Arborist Visit'; application form has no arborist-report item). | Registered Consulting Arborist, Board Certified Master Arborist, or ISA Certified Arborist, as determined by the Director for the type of development (3-8.04(c), 3-8.02(a),(i)) | municipal code |
| Woodside | Sometimes | Only at Planning Director discretion, when the applicant's sketch/description/photos are insufficient to determine tree health or hazard (WMC 153.435(B)); Director must notify applicant of the deficiencies within ten days. Approval criterion 153.436(A)(4) (thinning) relies on a certified arborist's recommendation. Routine applications need only sketch, description and ribbon-marked photographs. | 'arborist report' - credential not specified in 153.435; 153.436(A)(4) references a 'certified arborist'; fee schedule bills arborist 'Special Studies' as time & materials + 25% Town admin | municipal code |
What the city is looking for
A report that cities accept measures the tree the way the code specifies, states the species and condition, gives the removal justification the code names (hazard, decline, construction conflict), and proposes replacement. Menlo Park accepts only arborists on its approved list; Hillsborough has a mandatory template; Palo Alto will adopt a designated-arborist list. We write to each city's checklist.
Questions
Does a tree-service company's estimate count as an arborist report?
No. Cities ask for a signed report from a certified arborist with findings and measurements. An estimate is a price.
How long is a report valid?
Most cities treat a report as current for 6 to 12 months; some development reviews require updates at each submittal.
Can the city arborist's inspection replace a report?
In cities marked "Not required", yes: staff inspect and decide. Where a report is required, the inspection supplements it.
Every cell comes from the verified 35-city dataset (CSV and JSON available there). Each city page links the code section and source.
Need a report your city will accept?
Written to the city's checklist by an ISA Certified Arborist who does not sell tree work.
