Tree Permits in Pacifica
Pacifica requires a permit to remove any species (protected tree) at 12″; toyon, heritage tree at 4″; any tree in a grove of 10 or more trees at 6″; 2 more protected classes. Measured as trunk diameter (DBH) at 54″ above grade. Arborist report required with the application. Permit fee from $264. Verified October 12, 2026.
Last verified · fees checked · Michael Schuck, ISA Certified Arborist WE-15750A, Certified Urban Forest Professional WE-15750AF
Pacifica tree ordinance at a glance
| Code section | PMC Title 4, Ch. 12 Tree Preservation (Ord. 884-C.S., eff. Oct 12, 2022) |
|---|---|
| Protected trees | Protected tree: any species with a trunk 12" DBH or greater on public or private property (4-12.02(n)(1)); heritage trees: coast live oak, valley oak, California buckeye, Monterey pine and coast redwood 12" DBH or more, toyon 4" DBH or more, plus Director-designated trees (4-12.08); groves (natural cluster of 10 or more trees of any species, minimum 6" diameter) protected as a group. Eucalyptus and Cal-IPC invasive species are not protected except in groves or as the Director determines. Street/ROW and City trees are regulated under Ch. 14 (Public Works). |
| Size threshold | 12" DBH any species (toyon 4" DBH; grove trees 6"), at 4.5 ft / 54" above grade 4-12.02(e): 'measured at a standard height of four and one-half (4.5') feet or fifty-four (54") inches above grade'. Multi-stemmed trees: average of the stem diameters. Eucalyptus and Cal-IPC invasive species exempt (4-12.02(n)(4)). Heritage species share the 12" threshold except toyon (4"). |
| Multi-trunk trees | Multi-stemmed trees shall be measured by averaging the diameters of the stems (4-12.02(e)) |
| Dead or hazardous trees | No dead-tree exemption: 'The Director or the Director's appointed City staff will assess the need for a permit related to dead/dying tree(s)' (4-12.04(a)); applications based on disease or imminent hazard get priority (4-12.04(h)); proposed decisions on dead/dying trees cannot be appealed (4-12.07(b)(1)); emergency removal only on order of the Director of Public Works or Director of Public Safety, at owner cost (4-12.09) |
| Permit fee (FY 2026-27) | $264 Tree Permit (removal, encroachment or substantial trimming) not associated with a building permit; $271/hr when associated with a building permit application; Tree Permit Appeal $475 fee schedule |
| Penalties for removal without a permit | Misdemeanor, fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 6 months county jail (4-12.14(a)); violations are a public nuisance; unpermitted removal requires at least 2 replacement trees per healthy tree removed plus payment of the mature tree's replacement value minus the cost of the replacements, or full replacement value in lieu (4-12.14(c)); stop-work orders and performance security forfeiture for construction damage (4-12.11) |
| Arborist report | Required. Every standalone permit to remove a protected tree: PMC 4-12.04(a) 'An arborist's report including an ISA basic tree risk assessment form will be required for removal of a protected tree(s) needing a permit.' The city's Tree Permit Application checklist lists 'For stand alone applications: Application Fee of $256, Arborist's report and an ISA basic tree risk assessment form' and the Instructions list 'Arborist report' and 'ISA basic tree risk assessment form for removal of a protected tree(s)' as required items. For pruning and encroachment permits the report is discretionary ('may be required to provide a plot plan ... and/or an arborist's report', 4-12.05(a), 4-12.06(a)). For a tree permit connected to a building permit the Instructions require only the application form and site plan (arborist review time is billed), but a tree protection and preservation plan prepared by a qualified arborist is required for any regulated work within 50 feet of a protected tree (4-12.11). Who may write it: 'Qualified arborist' means a person who is certified as an arborist by the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) with an active ISA certification number or a person who is a registered consulting arborist with the American Society of Consulting Arborists (4-12.02(p)). The Director may also require 'a written report from a qualified horticulturist, arborist or licensed landscape architect acceptable to the Director' (4-12.04(d)). |
| Who to call | Community Development Department (private-property tree permits), 1800 Francisco Blvd, treepermit@pacifica.gov, online via Digital Permit Suite; Public Works Field Services (street/ROW and City trees), 155 Milagra Dr. Decision-maker under the code is the Director of Public Works or designee (City Arborist). · official page |
- : Fee schedule updated (FY 2026-27): $264 Tree Permit (removal, encroachment or substantial trimming) not associated with a building permit; $271/hr when associated with a building permit application; Tree…
Sources: cityofpacifica.org · library.municode.com · pacificaca.qscend.com. Urban Forestry Guide is not a city line; for Pacifica permit questions use the department above.
Does my tree need a permit in Pacifica?
A permit is required when the tree is protected and meets the size rule. Pacifica measures trunk diameter (DBH) at 54″ above the ground.
- Any species (protected tree): protected at 12″ diameter
- Toyon (Heteromeles arbutifolia), heritage tree: protected at 4″ diameter
- Any tree in a grove of 10 or more trees (6" minimum): protected at 6″ diameter (grove of 10 or more trees on one or contiguous parcels)
- Heritage species (coast live oak, valley oak, California buckeye, Monterey pine, coast redwood): protected at 12″ diameter
- Director-designated heritage tree: protected at any size
- Eucalyptus and Cal-IPC invasive species: exempt. Not protected unless part of a grove of 10 or more trees or designated by the Director (4-12.02(n)(4)); confirm the Cal-IPC list for the species.
- Multi-trunk trees: Multi-stemmed trees: average the diameters of the stems; 12" average is a protected tree (4-12.02(e)).
Significant pruning (more than 15% of leaf and stem area, or roots 2" and up) and any grading, trenching or paving within 50 feet of a protected tree also need a permit (4-12.05, 4-12.06).
Standalone removals require an arborist report plus an ISA Basic Tree Risk Assessment form (4-12.04(a)); fee $264 (FY 2026-27).
'average' multi-trunk mode is new to the checker; add handling before enabling.
Check my tree in the permit checker
Street trees, city-designated heritage trees and trees required by a development approval are protected at any size in every city. Trees on lot lines belong to both owners.
Does Pacifica require an arborist report?
Yes. Every standalone permit to remove a protected tree: PMC 4-12.04(a) 'An arborist's report including an ISA basic tree risk assessment form will be required for removal of a protected tree(s) needing a permit.' The city's Tree Permit Application checklist lists 'For stand alone applications: Application Fee of $256, Arborist's report and an ISA basic tree risk assessment form' and the Instructions list 'Arborist report' and 'ISA basic tree risk assessment form for removal of a protected tree(s)' as required items. For pruning and encroachment permits the report is discretionary ('may be required to provide a plot plan ... and/or an arborist's report', 4-12.05(a), 4-12.06(a)). For a tree permit connected to a building permit the Instructions require only the application form and site plan (arborist review time is billed), but a tree protection and preservation plan prepared by a qualified arborist is required for any regulated work within 50 feet of a protected tree (4-12.11).
Who may write it: 'Qualified arborist' means a person who is certified as an arborist by the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) with an active ISA certification number or a person who is a registered consulting arborist with the American Society of Consulting Arborists (4-12.02(p)). The Director may also require 'a written report from a qualified horticulturist, arborist or licensed landscape architect acceptable to the Director' (4-12.04(d)).. None found on the city page, instructions or application form.
“An arborist's report including an ISA basic tree risk assessment form will be required for removal of a protected tree(s) needing a permit.” municipal code
How to get a tree removal permit in Pacifica
- Confirm the tree is protected: any species 12" DBH or more (toyon 4"), a Director-designated heritage tree, or part of a grove of 10 or more trees 6" and up; eucalyptus and Cal-IPC invasive species are not protected. Significant pruning (more than 15% of the leaf and stem area, or roots 2" or larger) and any grading, trenching or paving within 50 feet of a protected tree also need a permit (4-12.02(t), 4-12.05, 4-12.06). source
- Apply online through the City's permitting portal (Digital Permit Suite) or in person at the Community Development Department, 1800 Francisco Blvd, with: the Tree Permit Application Form with all signatures (owner, agent, tree contractor with CSLB number), a site plan with dimensions showing the precise location of all trees within 50 feet of the project, an arborist's report, an ISA Basic Tree Risk Assessment Form (for protected-tree removals), and the $264 fee (card payments add 3%). Only trees within a 50-foot radius of each other can be covered by one permit. source
- Within 14 calendar days of receipt the Director (City Arborist) inspects the tree and issues a proposed decision to approve or deny, with conditions; by applying, the owner consents to City entry for 14 days (4-12.04(a)-(b)). The city states 'Review times take 14 days for each submittal.' source
- Notice of the application and proposed decision is posted on the tree (visible from the street), mailed to adjacent and abutting owners, and posted on the City's Tree Postings web page; a 10-day public noticing/appeal period follows and the applicant is notified of the outcome by email and US Mail (4-12.07(a)-(b)). source
- Permit conditions: a minimum of two replacement trees (same or similar-stature species, at least 1.5" caliper and 15-gallon) for every otherwise healthy tree removed, and/or payment of the mature tree's replacement value (Guide for Plant Appraisal) minus the cost of the replacements, or full replacement value in lieu if on-site planting is infeasible; cash deposit, replanting plan and a 2-year post-work inspection may be required (4-12.04(e); permit form conditions). source
- Removals tied to a building permit: the tree permit application is included in the building permit submittal, arborist review time is added to building fees, building-permit deadlines are suspended until the tree decision is final, and the tree may not be removed until grading/building permits are issued (4-12.04(g)). Any regulated work within 50 feet of a protected tree needs a Tree Protection and Preservation Plan by an ISA-certified or ASCA arborist with a tree inventory of all trees 6" and up, TPZ fencing and a performance security of 50% of tree value (4-12.11). source
| Timeline | 14-day review per submittal, then a 10-day public noticing period (city Instructions); code requires inspection and a proposed decision within 14 calendar days of receipt (4-12.04(b)) and gives 10 calendar days to appeal (4-12.07(b)). Permit expiration date is set on the permit; not stated in the code. “Review times take 14 days for each submittal. Upon a decision from the Arborist, Tree Permits undergo a 10-day public noticing period.” source |
|---|---|
| Appeal | Within 10 calendar days of the proposed decision the property owner or any concerned resident may appeal to the Parks, Beaches and Recreation Commission by filing the City Appeal Form (check 'Tree Removal Permit') with the City Clerk and paying the $475 Tree Permit Appeal Fee (FY 2026-27); the Commission's decision may be appealed to the City Council with a further $475 fee. The code sets 10 calendar days for the Council appeal (4-12.07(d)); the city page says 7 days. Dead/dying tree decisions are not appealable (4-12.07(b)(1)). No regulated work may be done while an appeal is pending. “Within ten (10) calendar days, the proposed decision may be appealed to the Parks, Beaches, and Recreation Commission by filing a written notice of appeal with the Director. No person may perform regulated work for which a permit appeal is pending.” source |
| Replacement | 4-12.04(e): 'replacement planting of a minimum of two (2) replacement trees for every otherwise healthy tree removed and may be required to pay the replacement value of the mature protected tree minus the cost of the two (2) replacement trees or payment of the full replacement value of a mature tree or trees in lieu thereof if on-site replacement is not feasible. No applicant shall be required to expend more on the replacement trees than the appraised value of the trees for which a permit is required.' Replacement trees: same species or similar mature stature, minimum 1.5" caliper and 15-gallon, replanted if they fail. Unpermitted removal: same 2:1 plus full replacement value (4-12.14(c)). source |
| Forms | Tree Permit Application (Community Development; includes permit conditions and Tree Ordinance Appeal section) · Tree Permit Application Instructions (09/02/2025) · Online permit portal (Digital Permit Suite) · City of Pacifica Appeal Form · Ordinance No. 884-C.S. (adopted ordinance PDF) · FY 2026-27 Citywide Fee Schedule (effective July 1, 2026) · PMC Title 4 Chapter 12 Tree Preservation (Municode) |
Process verified October 12, 2026 against the city's code, forms and department pages.
Frequently asked questions about tree permits in Pacifica
Do I need a permit to remove a dead tree in Pacifica?
No dead-tree exemption: 'The Director or the Director's appointed City staff will assess the need for a permit related to dead/dying tree(s)' (4-12.04(a)); applications based on disease or imminent hazard get priority (4-12.04(h)); proposed decisions on dead/dying trees cannot be appealed (4-12.07(b)(1)); emergency removal only on order of the Director of Public Works or Director of Public Safety, at owner cost (4-12.09)
What is the fine for removing a tree without a permit in Pacifica?
Misdemeanor, fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 6 months county jail (4-12.14(a)); violations are a public nuisance; unpermitted removal requires at least 2 replacement trees per healthy tree removed plus payment of the mature tree's replacement value minus the cost of the replacements, or full replacement value in lieu (4-12.14(c)); stop-work orders and performance security forfeiture for construction damage (4-12.11)
How long does a tree removal permit take in Pacifica?
14-day review per submittal, then a 10-day public noticing period (city Instructions); code requires inspection and a proposed decision within 14 calendar days of receipt (4-12.04(b)) and gives 10 calendar days to appeal (4-12.07(b)). Permit expiration date is set on the permit; not stated in the code.
Does Pacifica require an arborist report for a tree removal permit?
Required. Every standalone permit to remove a protected tree: PMC 4-12.04(a) 'An arborist's report including an ISA basic tree risk assessment form will be required for removal of a protected tree(s) needing a permit.' The city's Tree Permit Application checklist lists 'For stand alone applications: Application Fee of $256, Arborist's report and an ISA basic tree risk assessment form' and the Instructions list 'Arborist report' and 'ISA basic tree risk assessment form for removal of a protected tree(s)' as required items. For pruning and encroachment permits the report is discretionary ('may be required to provide a plot plan ... and/or an arborist's report', 4-12.05(a), 4-12.06(a)). For a tree permit connected to a building permit the Instructions require only the application form and site plan (arborist review time is billed), but a tree protection and preservation plan prepared by a qualified arborist is required for any regulated work within 50 feet of a protected tree (4-12.11).
How does Pacifica measure a tree for the permit threshold?
Trunk diameter (DBH) at 54 inches above grade. 12" DBH any species (toyon 4"; grove trees 6"), at 4.5 ft / 54" above grade
Tree permits in nearby cities
Atherton · Belmont · Burlingame · East Palo Alto · Foster City · Hillsborough · Menlo Park · Palo Alto
Compare all 45 cities in the 45-city ordinance table, or run the permit checker.
Not sure what Pacifica will ask for?
A 20-minute call with an ISA Certified Arborist usually settles it: permit or no permit, report or no report, and what it will cost.
