Tree Permits in Portola Valley
Portola Valley requires a permit to remove coast live oak, black oak, valley oak or California bay laurel at 36″; blue oak (16" circ / 5" dia) at 16″; coast redwood or Douglas fir at 54″; 2 more protected classes. Measured as trunk circumference at 54″ above grade. Arborist report required with the application. Permit fee from $96. Verified October 12, 2026.
Last verified · fees checked · Michael Schuck, ISA Certified Arborist WE-15750A, Certified Urban Forest Professional WE-15750AF
Portola Valley tree ordinance at a glance
| Code section | PVMC Ch. 15.12 Site Development and Tree Protection (15.12.060(28a), 15.12.070(A)(6), 15.12.275; Ord. 1993-274) |
|---|---|
| Protected trees | Native 'significant trees' only, by circumference (C) or diameter (D) measured 54" above mean natural grade: coast live oak, black oak, valley oak and California bay laurel 36" C / 11.5" D; blue oak 16" C / 5" D; coast redwood and Douglas fir 54" C / 17.2" D; big leaf maple and madrone 24" C / 7.6" D; plus any tree listed in the Historic Element of the General Plan. Non-listed species (e.g. Monterey pine, eucalyptus, magnolia) and smaller natives need no permit. Removal is authorized by a site development permit (tree removal permit). |
| Size threshold | 36" circumference (11.5" dia) coast live/black/valley oak and bay; 16" (5") blue oak; 54" (17.2") redwood and Douglas fir; 24" (7.6") big leaf maple and madrone; at 54" above mean natural grade; listed native species only Code states both circumference and diameter for each species; the site should display both. 'Greater than the size indicated' (strictly greater). Bay laurel table footnote: '(If multiple trunks, measurements pertain to largest trunk)'. Trees 'listed in the historic element of the general plan' are significant at any size. |
| Multi-trunk trees | Ambiguous: 15.12.060(28a) covers 'a trunk or multiple trunks with a total circumference (C) or diameter (D) greater than the size indicated', while the table note under California bay laurel says '(If multiple trunks, measurements pertain to largest trunk)'; the plot-plan rule treats multi-trunk trees with any one trunk of 4" as inventory trees (15.12.080(A)(5)) |
| Dead or hazardous trees | No dead-tree exemption: the Town page says a permit is required 'even if the tree appears to be dead'; emergency only: 'when a tree is hazardous or dangerous to life or property, it may be trimmed or removed by order of a member of a utility company, a member of a police or fire department, or town staff, all acting in official capacity' (15.12.050) |
| Permit fee | $96 application processing fee (Tree Removal Permit; no deposit); Town consultants' review costs may be charged to the applicant (15.12.090) fee schedule |
| Penalties for removal without a permit | Misdemeanor: fine up to $500 and/or imprisonment up to 180 days, each day a separate offense (15.12.410(A)); anyone violating the tree-protection provisions must also replace damaged or destroyed trees with new native trees of at least 15-gallon size (15.12.410(C)); permit revocation or suspension (15.12.350) |
| Arborist report | Required. Every application to remove a significant tree, per the Town's Tree Removal page ('An arborist's report is required.') and the application form ('REASON FOR TREE REMOVAL REQUEST: (Provide copy of Arborist Report)'). The code itself does not require one: Ch. 15.12 lets the Town engage foresters or other consultants at the applicant's cost (15.12.090) and the Conservation Subcommittee considers 'any arborist reports available'. Who may write it: Not specified ('arborist's report'). The code refers to 'a licensed tree specialist familiar with local native trees and town regulations' only for caring for damaged trees (15.12.275(A)(3)). |
| Who to call | Planning & Building Department, Town Hall, 765 Portola Road; applications emailed to planbuild@portolavalley.net; reviewed by the Conservation Committee (subcommittee site visit) with staff issuing the site development permit · official page |
Sources: portolavalley.net · library.municode.com. Urban Forestry Guide is not a city line; for Portola Valley permit questions use the department above.
Does my tree need a permit in Portola Valley?
A permit is required when the tree is protected and meets the size rule. Portola Valley measures trunk circumference at 54″ above the ground.
- Coast live oak, black oak, valley oak or California bay laurel (36" circ / 11.5" dia): protected at 36″ circumference
- Blue oak (16" circ / 5" dia): protected at 16″ circumference
- Coast redwood or Douglas fir (54" circ / 17.2" dia): protected at 54″ circumference
- Big leaf maple or madrone (24" circ / 7.6" dia): protected at 24″ circumference
- Tree listed in the Historic Element of the General Plan: protected at any size
- Any species not on the native significant-tree list: exempt. Only the nine listed native species (and Historic Element trees) are regulated; everything else can be removed without a Town permit (Tree Removal page).
- Multi-trunk trees: Code says multiple trunks count by their total circumference, but the table note under California bay laurel says the largest trunk governs; ask the Town which applies to your species (15.12.060(28a)).
Threshold is "greater than" the listed size (15.12.060(28a)).
Removal is by a site development permit reviewed by the Conservation Committee; arborist report and HOA approval letter (if in an HOA) required; $96 fee (2024 schedule).
Fill within the dripline or substantially reducing a significant tree in size also needs the permit (15.12.070(A)(6)).
multi-trunk mode (total vs. largest trunk)
fee currency ($96 from the May 2024 schedule)
Check my tree in the permit checker
Street trees, city-designated heritage trees and trees required by a development approval are protected at any size in every city. Trees on lot lines belong to both owners.
Does Portola Valley require an arborist report?
Yes. Every application to remove a significant tree, per the Town's Tree Removal page ('An arborist's report is required.') and the application form ('REASON FOR TREE REMOVAL REQUEST: (Provide copy of Arborist Report)'). The code itself does not require one: Ch. 15.12 lets the Town engage foresters or other consultants at the applicant's cost (15.12.090) and the Conservation Subcommittee considers 'any arborist reports available'.
Who may write it: Not specified ('arborist's report'). The code refers to 'a licensed tree specialist familiar with local native trees and town regulations' only for caring for damaged trees (15.12.275(A)(3)).. None found.
“If a property owner propose to remove a significant tree, they must submit a completed Application for Site Development Permit for Removal of Significant Tree(s) and pay the application processing fee. An arborist's report is required. Applications can be sent digitally to planbuild@portolavalley.net.” city department page
How to get a tree removal permit in Portola Valley
- Check whether the tree is a significant tree: one of the nine listed natives at or above its circumference/diameter (54" above natural grade) or a Historic Element tree. If not (Monterey pine, eucalyptus, magnolia, or a smaller native), no Town permit is needed; trimming and thinning need no permit unless they would injure a significant tree, e.g. 'substantially reducing the tree in size'. source
- Email the completed Application for Site Development Permit for Removal of Significant Tree(s) to planbuild@portolavalley.net with the species, circumference or diameter, location, reason for removal, a copy of the arborist report, and an HOA approval letter if the property is in a homeowners' association; pay the $96 processing fee. source
- Staff forward the application to the Conservation Committee; a Conservation Subcommittee member arranges a site inspection, considers the reason for removal, available arborist reports, the tree's siting relative to structures and public view, and its condition, then reports findings to staff (code: the planning coordinator refers the application to a designated Conservation Committee member and may issue the permit with conditions on receipt of requested reports, 15.12.100(E)). source
- If removal is supported, a signed site development permit is returned with the Conservation Committee report; the Town asks you to tell your neighbors before work starts. If the subcommittee wants further review, the full Conservation Committee hears it at its next available agenda and the Chair reports back to staff. source
- Permits approved under 15.12.100 become effective sixteen days after approval unless appealed or called up by the Council (15.12.105); work must begin within 180 days and finish within one year (15.12.390). Removal may only occur Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., never on weekends or Town holidays (15.12.160). source
- Replant from the Town's Native Plant List where replanting is needed (code: replacement 'with other trees on the native plant list, as near as possible to the original location, unless practical reasons preclude this option', 15.12.275(C)). Significant trees affected by grading or building work need a site development permit with dripline fencing, hand trenching, no cuts or fills within four feet of the trunk, and a protection bond or deposit (15.12.275(A)). source
| Timeline | No processing time published. Permit effective 16 days after approval (appeal/Council review window); Planning Commission must act within 60 days of a complete application where it is the approving authority or the application is deemed approved (15.12.100(C)(5)); permit lapses if work is not started within 180 days or completed within one year. “Permits approved pursuant to Section 15.12.100 shall become effective sixteen days after approval unless the council elects to review the approval pursuant to Section 15.12.365, or unless the approval is appealed pursuant to Section 15.12.360.” source |
|---|---|
| Appeal | Any applicant or other aggrieved party may appeal an administrative official's determination to the Planning Commission by written notice to the planning commission secretary within fifteen days, and a Planning Commission determination to the Town Council by written notice to the town clerk within fifteen days, for hearing at the next open regular Council agenda (15.12.360); the Council may also elect to review approvals (15.12.365). Appeal fee per the 2024 Master Fee Schedule: $7,358 with a $7,500 deposit (Planning 'Appeal' line; not tree-specific). “Any applicant or other party aggrieved by a determination of any administrative official may appeal such determination to the planning commission by filing a written notice of appeal with the planning commission secretary within fifteen days of the administrative official's determination.” source |
| Replacement | No fixed ratio or in-lieu fee. 15.12.275(C): 'Replacement of trees removed with other trees on the native plant list, as near as possible to the original location, unless practical reasons preclude this option.' The Town page 'requests' that replanting use the Native Plant List. Unauthorized damage or destruction: replacement with native trees of at least 15-gallon size (15.12.410(C)). source |
| Forms | Application for Site Development Permit for Removal of Significant Tree(s) (Revised 07/01/24) · Tree Removal (Planning & Building handout page) · Town Native Plant List · Master Fee Schedule adopted May 22, 2024 · PVMC Chapter 15.12 Site Development and Tree Protection (Municode) |
Process verified October 12, 2026 against the city's code, forms and department pages.
Frequently asked questions about tree permits in Portola Valley
Do I need a permit to remove a dead tree in Portola Valley?
No dead-tree exemption: the Town page says a permit is required 'even if the tree appears to be dead'; emergency only: 'when a tree is hazardous or dangerous to life or property, it may be trimmed or removed by order of a member of a utility company, a member of a police or fire department, or town staff, all acting in official capacity' (15.12.050)
What is the fine for removing a tree without a permit in Portola Valley?
Misdemeanor: fine up to $500 and/or imprisonment up to 180 days, each day a separate offense (15.12.410(A)); anyone violating the tree-protection provisions must also replace damaged or destroyed trees with new native trees of at least 15-gallon size (15.12.410(C)); permit revocation or suspension (15.12.350)
How long does a tree removal permit take in Portola Valley?
No processing time published. Permit effective 16 days after approval (appeal/Council review window); Planning Commission must act within 60 days of a complete application where it is the approving authority or the application is deemed approved (15.12.100(C)(5)); permit lapses if work is not started within 180 days or completed within one year.
Does Portola Valley require an arborist report for a tree removal permit?
Required. Every application to remove a significant tree, per the Town's Tree Removal page ('An arborist's report is required.') and the application form ('REASON FOR TREE REMOVAL REQUEST: (Provide copy of Arborist Report)'). The code itself does not require one: Ch. 15.12 lets the Town engage foresters or other consultants at the applicant's cost (15.12.090) and the Conservation Subcommittee considers 'any arborist reports available'.
How does Portola Valley measure a tree for the permit threshold?
Trunk circumference at 54 inches above grade. 36" circumference (11.5" dia) coast live/black/valley oak and bay; 16" (5") blue oak; 54" (17.2") redwood and Douglas fir; 24" (7.6") big leaf maple and madrone; at 54" above mean natural grade; listed native species only
Tree permits in nearby cities
Atherton · Belmont · Burlingame · East Palo Alto · Foster City · Hillsborough · Menlo Park · Pacifica
Compare all 45 cities in the 45-city ordinance table, or run the permit checker.
Not sure what Portola Valley will ask for?
A 20-minute call with an ISA Certified Arborist usually settles it: permit or no permit, report or no report, and what it will cost.
