Arborist Report for a Portola Valley Tree Permit
Portola Valley requires an arborist report with every private-tree removal application. We write reports to Portola Valley's checklist, measured as PVMC Ch. 15.12 Site Development and Tree Protection specifies.
What Portola Valley requires
Required. Every application to remove a significant tree, per the Town's Tree Removal page ('An arborist's report is required.') and the application form ('REASON FOR TREE REMOVAL REQUEST: (Provide copy of Arborist Report)'). The code itself does not require one: Ch. 15.12 lets the Town engage foresters or other consultants at the applicant's cost (15.12.090) and the Conservation Subcommittee considers 'any arborist reports available'.
Who may write it: Not specified ('arborist's report'). The code refers to 'a licensed tree specialist familiar with local native trees and town regulations' only for caring for damaged trees (15.12.275(A)(3)).. None found.
“If a property owner propose to remove a significant tree, they must submit a completed Application for Site Development Permit for Removal of Significant Tree(s) and pay the application processing fee. An arborist's report is required. Applications can be sent digitally to planbuild@portolavalley.net.” city department page
The rule the report has to address
| Protected trees | Native 'significant trees' only, by circumference (C) or diameter (D) measured 54" above mean natural grade: coast live oak, black oak, valley oak and California bay laurel 36" C / 11.5" D; blue oak 16" C / 5" D; coast redwood and Douglas fir 54" C / 17.2" D; big leaf maple and madrone 24" C / 7.6" D; plus any tree listed in the Historic Element of the General Plan. Non-listed species (e.g. Monterey pine, eucalyptus, magnolia) and smaller natives need no permit. Removal is authorized by a site development permit (tree removal permit). |
|---|---|
| Size threshold | 36" circumference (11.5" dia) coast live/black/valley oak and bay; 16" (5") blue oak; 54" (17.2") redwood and Douglas fir; 24" (7.6") big leaf maple and madrone; at 54" above mean natural grade; listed native species only |
| Dead or hazardous trees | No dead-tree exemption: the Town page says a permit is required 'even if the tree appears to be dead'; emergency only: 'when a tree is hazardous or dangerous to life or property, it may be trimmed or removed by order of a member of a utility company, a member of a police or fire department, or town staff, all acting in official capacity' (15.12.050) |
| Permit fee | $96 application processing fee (Tree Removal Permit; no deposit); Town consultants' review costs may be charged to the applicant (15.12.090) |
| Penalty for removal without a permit | Misdemeanor: fine up to $500 and/or imprisonment up to 180 days, each day a separate offense (15.12.410(A)); anyone violating the tree-protection provisions must also replace damaged or destroyed trees with new native trees of at least 15-gallon size (15.12.410(C)); permit revocation or suspension (15.12.350) |
| Department | Planning & Building Department, Town Hall, 765 Portola Road; applications emailed to planbuild@portolavalley.net; reviewed by the Conservation Committee (subcommittee site visit) with staff issuing the site development permit |
What the report contains
A signed PDF report. It states species and measurements taken the way the city's code requires, health and structural findings, and photographs. Where it matters, it gives a risk rating. The recommendation is written as the justification the city's code names, so staff can approve it without asking for more. For Portola Valley that means measurements taken in circumference at 54″ above grade, the species identified against the city's protected list, the condition and structural findings, and the removal justification the code names, with replacement proposed as the code requires.
Price and turnaround
$750 to $1,250 for one to three trees, including the site visit, the findings the city requires and the replacement plan. Multi-parcel and development reports from $1,650. Responses to city comments $350 per round. Reports are delivered 7 to 10 business days after the site visit; responses to Portola Valley comments are $350 per round unless the proposal includes one. Fees are confirmed in writing before the visit.
Full city rules: Tree permits in Portola Valley. Not sure the tree is protected? Run the permit checker.
Request a Portola Valley arborist report
Questions about Portola Valley reports
Does Portola Valley accept a report from any arborist?
Not specified ('arborist's report'). The code refers to 'a licensed tree specialist familiar with local native trees and town regulations' only for caring for damaged trees (15.12.275(A)(3)). None found.
What if my tree is dead or dangerous?
No dead-tree exemption: the Town page says a permit is required 'even if the tree appears to be dead'; emergency only: 'when a tree is hazardous or dangerous to life or property, it may be trimmed or removed by order of a member of a utility company, a member of a police or fire department, or town staff, all acting in official capacity' (15.12.050)
How much is the Portola Valley permit itself?
$96 application processing fee (Tree Removal Permit; no deposit); Town consultants' review costs may be charged to the applicant (15.12.090) The report fee is separate.
