Arborist Report for a San Francisco Tree Permit
San Francisco does not require a report by rule, but a report is what settles contested or borderline cases. We write reports to San Francisco's checklist, measured as SF Public Works Code Art. 16 specifies.
What San Francisco requires
Not required. PWC 806(b)(3)(A) (which 810A(b)(1) applies to private significant trees) only requires application 'on the designated form'; a Public Works arborist inspects. An ISA Certified Arborist written report appears only under 'Further Recommendations' on the application form and department page. Separate rule: a certified-arborist Tree Protection Plan is required for construction near Street/Significant/Landmark Trees (PWC 808(c)(5)).
Who may write it: Not specified as a requirement; the recommendation names an 'International Society of Arboriculture Certified Arborist'. No approved/qualified arborist list published; form directs applicants to the ISA website
“Have an International Society of Arboriculture Certified Arborist evaluate the tree and provide a written report. (listed under 'Further Recommendations')” city application form
The rule the report has to address
| Protected trees | Significant tree: on DPW property OR private property w/ trunk within 10 FT of public ROW, AND any one of: DBH >12" (dia; ~37.7" circ), height >20 ft, canopy >15 ft. Street trees: any size (city-maintained since Prop E, passed Nov. 2016, duty eff. 7/1/2017). Landmark trees: Board of Supervisors-designated any size |
|---|---|
| Size threshold | >12" DBH / >20 ft height / >15 ft canopy (independent prongs), DBH at 4.5 ft (BUF) |
| Dead or hazardous trees | NO self-help: removal requires permit; only the Director may act on written manifest-danger-and-immediate-necessity determination (810A(b)(4), 806); 30-day posted notice for removals (806(b)(3)(B)); landmark removals: Public Works public hearing (Director's decision appealable to Board of Appeals) |
| Permit fee | 2026-2027 Bureau of Urban Forestry Permit Fee Schedule (eff. July 1, 2026): Tree Removal Permit Application Fee $499 (1-3 trees, non construction related), $1,004 (1-3 trees, construction related), $1,337 (4-9 trees), $2,009 (10+ trees); In-Lieu Tree Fee $2,646 per tree; Tree Pruning Permit $441; Tree Protection Plan Review $209; Board of Appeal surcharge $9. |
| Penalty for removal without a permit | Removal/destruction: $10,000 per tree OR replacement value, WHICHEVER GREATER (811(c)(1)); repeat within 1 yr: $20,000 (811(c)(3)); + misdemeanor <=$1,000/6 mo |
| Department | SF Public Works, Bureau of Urban Forestry: 628-652-TREE (8733), urbanforestry@sfdpw.org, or 311 |
What the report contains
Written report (PDF) with species and measurements taken as the city's code requires, health and structural findings, photographs, risk rating where relevant, and recommendations that state the justification the city needs to see. For San Francisco that means measurements taken in diameter at 54″ above grade, the species identified against the city's protected list, the condition and structural findings, and the removal justification the code names, with replacement proposed as the code requires.
Price and turnaround
$750 to $1,250 for one to three trees (site visit, report with the city's required findings, replacement plan); multi-parcel and development reports from $1,650; responses to city comments $350 per round. Reports are delivered 7 to 10 business days after the site visit; responses to San Francisco comments are $350 per round unless the proposal includes one. Fees are confirmed in writing before the visit.
Full city rules: Tree permits in San Francisco. Not sure the tree is protected? Run the permit checker.
Request a San Francisco arborist report
Questions about San Francisco reports
Does San Francisco accept a report from any arborist?
Not specified as a requirement; the recommendation names an 'International Society of Arboriculture Certified Arborist' No approved/qualified arborist list published; form directs applicants to the ISA website
What if my tree is dead or dangerous?
NO self-help: removal requires permit; only the Director may act on written manifest-danger-and-immediate-necessity determination (810A(b)(4), 806); 30-day posted notice for removals (806(b)(3)(B)); landmark removals: Public Works public hearing (Director's decision appealable to Board of Appeals)
How much is the San Francisco permit itself?
2026-2027 Bureau of Urban Forestry Permit Fee Schedule (eff. July 1, 2026): Tree Removal Permit Application Fee $499 (1-3 trees, non construction related), $1,004 (1-3 trees, construction related), $1,337 (4-9 trees), $2,009 (10+ trees); In-Lieu Tree Fee $2,646 per tree; Tree Pruning Permit $441; Tree Protection Plan Review $209; Board of Appeal surcharge $9. The report fee is separate.
