ISA Certified Arborist WE-15750A · UFP WE-15750AF · Serving the Bay Area
Urban Forestry Guide: (415) 881-0124

What San Jose requires

Sometimes required. Required for dead/dying/diseased removals ('Submit the Tree Removal Permit Application with a signed certified arborist report.'), for over-the-counter imminent-hazard Unsuitable Tree Removal Permits ('as evidenced by a signed certified arborist report'), and for live ordinance-size tree removals when staff request it ('City staff may require you to submit a report signed by a certified arborist'). Not required for unsuitable-tree removals (proximity/species list) unless requested.

Who may write it: 'certified arborist' (signed report); certification body not specified on the page.

“An arborist report is not necessarily required. City staff will review your application and inform you if a report is needed. If you already have a report, you may include it with your submission” city department page

The rule the report has to address

Protected treesOrdinance-size: any tree 38"+ circumference (~12" dia); multi-trunk = SUM of circumferences 38"+. All trees on commercial/multifamily per city practice. Heritage: Council-designated any size. Street trees any size
Size threshold38" circumference at 54" above natural grade
Dead or hazardous treesSame-day over-the-counter Unsuitable/dead-tree permits at Permit Center (9-11am/1-3pm weekdays) with certified-arborist documentation; no published processing timeline for standard permits
Permit feeEff. Aug 10, 2026: live ordinance-size tree, single-family/duplex $2,587 + $336 Citywide Planning fee (13%); other property $2,985 + $388; dead tree $497 + $64; unsuitable tree $398 + $51; heritage tree $13,185 + $1,714; live and heritage removals also pay public-notice mailing ($601 for a 300-ft radius)
Penalty for removal without a permitHeritage: civil penalty up to $30,000 per tree (3-yr window, 13.28.220.B). Street trees: up to $15,000 per city-published schedule (code sets amounts by council resolution; 13.28.230/.670). Private ordinance-size: administrative citation per council fine schedule (13.32.060). Replacement: SFR 1:1 (15-gal min; 24" box = 2 credits); other properties up to 5:1 native/4:1 non-native/3:1 orchard
DepartmentPlanning, Building & Code Enforcement (408) 535-3555

What the report contains

Written report (PDF) with species and measurements taken as the city's code requires, health and structural findings, photographs, risk rating where relevant, and recommendations that state the justification the city needs to see. For San Jose that means measurements taken in circumference at 54″ above grade, the species identified against the city's protected list, the condition and structural findings, and the removal justification the code names, with replacement proposed as the code requires.

Price and turnaround

$750 to $1,250 for one to three trees (site visit, report with the city's required findings, replacement plan); multi-parcel and development reports from $1,650; responses to city comments $350 per round. Reports are delivered 7 to 10 business days after the site visit; responses to San Jose comments are $350 per round unless the proposal includes one. Fees are confirmed in writing before the visit.

Full city rules: Tree permits in San Jose. Not sure the tree is protected? Run the permit checker.

Request a San Jose arborist report

We reply within one business day. Nothing you send is shared with tree-service companies.

Questions about San Jose reports

Does San Jose accept a report from any arborist?

'certified arborist' (signed report); certification body not specified on the page

What if my tree is dead or dangerous?

Same-day over-the-counter Unsuitable/dead-tree permits at Permit Center (9-11am/1-3pm weekdays) with certified-arborist documentation; no published processing timeline for standard permits

How much is the San Jose permit itself?

Eff. Aug 10, 2026: live ordinance-size tree, single-family/duplex $2,587 + $336 Citywide Planning fee (13%); other property $2,985 + $388; dead tree $497 + $64; unsuitable tree $398 + $51; heritage tree $13,185 + $1,714; live and heritage removals also pay public-notice mailing ($601 for a 300-ft radius) The report fee is separate.

Call Urban Forestry Guide San Jose report